Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

S E Bastable, PVT, 30195, 9th Service Battalion, Devonshire Regiment

outrunkid

Hello. A few months ago I did some research on my family history and came across my great grand uncle. 

His name was Sampson Edward Bastable (sometimes listed as Samson but it would seem after his death he is listed as S E Bastable), born 31st December 1885 in Smethwick to Charles Edward and Ruth Bastable. I believe he was married but as of yet I have no definite knowledge. 

On 5th April 1916 he joined the Army, assigned to the 9th Battalion of the Devonshire Regiment, Service Number 30195, and arrived on the Western Front on the 6th August 1916, serving in C Company, 12th platoon.

On the 4th January 1917,  he was killed in action at Beaumont-Hamel.

He is buried at the Munich Trench British Cemetery in France. 

I am wondering if anyone has any information on the battalion, the regiment, the company or platoon between his time serving - AUGUST 1916 TO JANUARY 1917. What I would really love to know is how he died but of course I realise the odds of anybody knowing or being able to find out is extraordinarily remote. If someone has photographs or records of the regiment or of him I'd really appreciate being made aware. 

I've attached a few documents that list his death announcement and grave details. I've already checked the Common Wealth Grave Commissions site and found his grave listing.  

Death Announcement - section.png

Sampson Edaward Bastable Grave description.JPG

Samual Edaward Bastable Grave description 2.JPG

The abbreviation at the end of the biography is unm; that indicates unmarried.

There is a pension ledger card for him. His mother Ruth (306, Halesowen Road, Old Hill, Staffs) made a claim which supports his probab;e single status.

Another card suggests she got 4.6 a week from mid-1917 - could mean 4s 6d or £4 6s