Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Does this Brodie look correct?

Hallibag

New member, here, and I’m hoping that some of you might be kind enough to share your thoughts with me about a Brodie Mk.I helmet that I have. As you’ll see in the photos, it’s stamped FKS 25 and has what I believe is its original chinstrap, and most of its liner (what the mice didn’t eat, anyway!). I guess what I’m wondering is, does this helmet look like a legit WWI helmet and, if so, what year would it date to? Thanks!

A57D4F11-090F-4739-89A2-CAB1CCB00D31.jpeg

DE4C9F65-7EB1-437B-85FD-67DB24AEE8CF.jpeg

FD4B89B0-D991-49D9-BB29-7715E5EA7DE6.jpeg

357146F2-371E-484C-A0B8-A1B626BBB4D6.jpeg

632458B0-F474-4DE4-89F4-084584D94F0E.jpeg

Hallibag,

Welcome to the forum!

I’m no expert, but having surveyed many of these on this site and also on-line auction sites, it seems to me to be entirely consistent with other Great War Brodie helmets.

FKS 25 is a recognized stamp, where FKS = Thomas Firth Co. and 25 is the batch of steel from which the helmet was manufactured. It is British-made.

If placed on a flat surface, with the straps and rings tucked carefully inside the shell, it should rock backwards and forwards slightly.

If you post some accurate dimensions (length, width, height of crown and weight) they can be compared to specs.

I’m sure that others more expert than myself will be along to comment.

Regards,

JMB

Edited by JMB1943

Thank you for your reply, JMB1943! Yes, the helmet does rock back and forth a little - fore and aft - on a flat surface. As for the dimensions, using a tape measure, width is 299mm and length is 310mm (I hope metric is okay). I couldn’t figure out a way to accurately measure height.

Oh, almost forgot - weight is 939 grams.

4469801F-158E-4B38-8A93-0C522DF958F0.jpeg

0D465708-0074-4330-A91D-B9AEFF4AE0AE.jpeg

B35CC2F0-B804-4CC5-BA7E-9CC60ADC27B3.jpeg

C2083EEC-426F-405F-AE92-74CD8B8374A5.jpeg

Edited by Hallibag