Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Background info

Mad Mitch

Hello! Complete newbie but I hope someone there might be able to help! My daughter bought a WW1 Victory Medal in an Antiques shop for me yesterday, because she thought it might cheer me up. (Currently laid up after a serious motorcycle crash)!

The medal belonged to 83870 Gunner E. Ashley, RA. Having paid to find him on Forces War Records and paid to get his medal card from the National Archives today, I now know he was Gunner Edgar Ashley, RGA. His medal card says "RGA 247B" and shows he was awarded the British War Medal and the Victory Medal, the "Mutt and Jeff Pair". I take it that as he wasn't awarded either of the "Stars" that he was probably a conscript. But that is ALL I now know of this man.I am assuming that 247B means 247 Siege Battery. I would love to know more about this man if possible! Date/place of birth/death and more about his unit. Can anyone shed any further light on Gunner Ashley? I'd appreciate it!

Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

Shame you paid for info on FWR! Make sure you haven’t signed up for a “recurring” monthly renewable membership.

Obviously as you are laid up you can’t do any research except from your armchair.

I’m sure a member with access to Ancestry and or FMP will be along with any information gleaned on those more helpful (than FWR) sites. 

Steve

Edited by tullybrone

ditto regarding paying, its free on Ancestry and you can take out a short free account then cancel.

Edgar was only entitled to the pair  (silver BWM and victory) if you read previous posts the silver BWM was often sold off for its scrap value wheras the other two were not precious metal.