Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Non-Commonwealth Soldiers at Tyne Cot

Kilburn45

Hello all,

I'm a CWGC intern working at Tyne Cot til November.

From speaking to many Dutch and Belgian folk i keep hearing 'rumours' and stories of Dutch soldiers being buried at the site and remembered on the memorial wall after fighting and falling for a commonwealth army. However, no one seems to know their names or where they are located. Does anyone have an ideas or knowledge on this or an opinion on whether this could be true?

I already know where the Belgian, Czech and 'Japanese' soldiers are in the cemetery but we get so many visitors from the Netherlands that it would be great to be able to tell them a story about their countrymen.

Thanks for any help I get,

Joe

Joe, 

Welcome to the Forum 

none that i’m aware of, no doubt you have had a look at the CWGC database. 

I know the Japanese Soldier but then again, he wasn’t a Japanese Soldier, he may have been born in Japan and was actually serving in the British and Empire forces at the time of his death. 

There are many cases like that of men being born in a country but never served in that country’s armed forces 

Jamie 

• 2 years later...

(Nederlander)

PRIVATE HENRY JOHN DE VOOGD

Service Number: 1643
Regiment & Unit/Ship

Australian Infantry, A.I.F.

51st Bn.

Date of Death

Died 12 October 1917

Age 34 years old

Buried or commemorated at

TYNE COT CEMETERY

XXXV. G. 18.

Belgium

• Country of ServiceAustralian

1 hour ago, Lorre said:

(Nederlander)

PRIVATE HENRY JOHN DE VOOGD

Service Number: 1643
Regiment & Unit/Ship

Australian Infantry, A.I.F.

51st Bn.

Date of Death

Died 12 October 1917

Age 34 years old

Buried or commemorated at

TYNE COT CEMETERY

XXXV. G. 18.

Belgium

• Country of ServiceAustralian

He is not Dutch. He was born in Eaglehawk, Victoria, where his parents lived as well and his nationality was "British" according to his service files.