Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

Tomb1302

French Postcard Depiction

Tomb1302

Hello all,

I just purchased this off eBay, and, although the 'seller's' image isn't very telling, I was wondering if anyone could provide me with a date, and maybe some more information?

I've deduced it can be no later than 1915, but, am not sure if it is pre-war, or just at the beginning of the war.

I can read the back, but have provided it for any clues regardless - Thank you!

Screen Shot 2019-07-07 at 9.50.42 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-07-07 at 10.06.42 PM.png

Tomb1302

Tomb1302

Is nobody able to provide me with anything definitive?

seaJane

I'm not an expert in the uniforms, but the fact that he has lost so much weight in training makes me think that it must have been particularly intense, so the first autumn/winter of the year? 

I see the photographer is based in Rouen - does searching Rouen caserne 1914 bring up anything that could be the building?

Tomb1302
8 minutes ago, seaJane said:

I'm not an expert in the uniforms, but the fact that he has lost so much weight in training makes me think that it must have been particularly intense, so the first autumn/winter of the year? 

I see the photographer is based in Rouen - does searching Rouen caserne 1914 bring up anything that could be the building?

Thank you @seaJane!

Unfortunately, I can't find anything definitive, but, if during the war, it would definitely have been during 1914.

I also began to look for the 39e and 74e R.I, as, it says these were authorized photographs from Rouen for those regiments.

Thoughts?

JWK
Posted (edited)

Loosely translated (with my schoolboy French, and a French course in Montréal - 45 years and 15 years ago respectively.....)

Not too sure about the sentences in brackets [   ] though...

My dearest grandmother,

for several days I’ve had the intention of sending you my latest news, all of which is excellent by the way.