Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

German bayonet markings HELP?.

Boomstick

I am new to this and think I understand how to.read them but.i really want a confirmation.. so please any help would be greatly appreciated. 

1561353494669207350021.jpg

1561353607899528155518.jpg

1561353633117655062394.jpg

Edited by Boomstick
New pic

B.K.13.

Not sure, but I guess

Bayerische Kriegsschule , Waffe Nr. 13

In the book by Wacker/Görtz is a B.K.1 mentioned. It means Bezirkskommando, used in Bavaria around 1901

Dann lag ich leider daneben. Falsch geraten. :hypocrite:

On 30/06/2019 at 07:48, The Prussian said:

In the book by Wacker/Görtz is a B.K.1 mentioned. It means Bezirkskommando, used in Bavaria around 1901

That is the correct reading, indeed. 

Respectfully

D. 

Woops! replied to an earlier post of this at https://www.greatwarforum.org/topic/273181-german-bayonet-markings-help/ and yes, Bezirks kommando probable - but where is the letter signifying location or armee?

OK, so this is an S.98 n.A, and so dates to around 1902-1914... In this case the 1897 or 1909 regulations apply for the marking and a "B.K." marking is for Bezirkskommando BUT should be followed by an initial letter for where that particular office was. This is stated quite clearly in the 1897 and 1909 regulations.

1897 says in its list of examples on p.9, Roman numerals were to be used for Bezirkskommando marks "in Verbindung mit dem Namen" - "in combination with the (place) name"; and on p. 28 gives as an example "B.K.17.S.7." for "Bezirkskommando 17 Sprottau (waffe) 7" - that's Szprotawa, in modern Poland.

1909 says on p. 14, Roman numerals are used to indicate individual Bezirkommandos "in Verbindung mit die Stadtenamen indicated in lateinischen Buchstaben "-  "the city name indicated Latin letters".