Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

WW1 ASC MT 116th - Sidney Cooper 053139

S Hughes

Hi,

I have been researching my Great Grandfather's service in WW1 for many years, and have only through Ancestry have we located his attestation paper and solved the mystery. The Army had him listed as Sydney Cooper, when his name is Sidney Cooper, as he signed on the paper. His service number is 053139, and it looks like his regiment was the 116th MT of the ASC, but I can't find anything else about him. My Father recalls being told he was gassed during the Somme offensive, but there's no record of him on the CWGC site. I got a little bit of info from the longlongtrail website which said the 116th was part of the 12th Divisional Train ASC.

Is there anywhere else I should be looking? I have a photograph of a unit from my Grans collection, but no way of knowing if it is his unit.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Fold3 Sidney Cooper - Attestation Paper (front).jpg

Fold3 Version of Sidney Cooper Attestation Paper.jpg

ww1.jpg

From his attestation form there is a discharge date of 1919 and evidence of marriage and also promotion and demotion I think although it is difficult to read. CWGC would only have him if I died-do you know that he did?

M2/053139 is his number-those extra bits at start make a difference. Although you need more knowledgeable people to tell you what!

George

His medal index card and the medal rolls show that he arrived in France on 26th March 1915.

He was demobbed on 15.6.1919 and placed on the Army Reserve, Class Z. Qualified for a 1914/15 Star, British War Medal, and Victory Medal.

Search on Ancestry for these using the service number of  M2/035139, but his christian name is spelt as Sidney not Sydney on MIC and rolls.

M2 prefix is explained on the Long Long Trail website here :