Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help Please - Uniform

Steve Monk

Hello, I'm new here and currently researching my relatives involved in the first world war.
I am hoping someone could identify the regiment my Great Grandfather was in by the picture I have of him on a horse.
He seems to have been in several, namely the East Kent Regiment then the Queens Royal West Surrey Regiment but in this photo the badges don't look familiar for either, but I am no expert.
Could someone kindly tell me what they are please? if you can see them clearly enough.
Thank you.

Arthur (Jessie) Monk1.jpg

Looks like Royal Artillery to me. 

Looks like artillery to me also.

Dave.

Agree Royal Artillery.

He also has a divisional shoulder patch that may be recognisable. (30th Division?)

Scott 

RA shoulder title.png

Shoulder patch.JPG

Edited by Waddell
Added more.

Thank you, I am finding it very difficult to track his WW1 history down, I can't seem to find much about him unlike my other Great Grandfather who was KIA in Ypres, found out a lot about him but as this one lived it seems hard to trace him. Wish I had asked him when he was still alive.

Steve,

What was his name? Have you looked though the Medal Index Cards or for his records? 

Scott

Hi Scott,
Yes I have and they don't say a lot just the normal two medals not even the 1914-15 star.
He was in the Buffs and Queens West Surrey but I can't work out which way round it was, he was in the TA to start with I think then at the age of 38 was conscripted and put in the Queens, I don't know I'm just clutching at straws.
He was discharged in 14/12/1917  and entitled to wear the wound stripe, I have a picture of him in the Buffs where he appears to be older and was a sergeant. 

Arthur Monk T/207401

Medal Record.jpg

Here he is in the Buffs

Arthur (Jessie) Monk2.JPG

• Admin