Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help with RMLI research needed please, thanks

Liverpool Lou

I am new to researching RMLI personnel and would like some help if possible please? My Great Uncle, Edward John Dal(e)y was a merchant seaman then  enlisted with the RMLI Plymouth Division Short Service, Register no 368. on 24 September 1914 .  My first question is  can you tell me if it is possible to find out which ship(s) he was on? I know he served at Gallipoli and I have a few pages  of brief notes torn from a note book that places him there on Friday  5th March to Thursday 18th March.  I have read this https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/order-of-battle-of-divisions/63rd-royal-naval-division/royal-marine-deployment-to-gallipoli/  which fits in with his notes but haven’t managed to identify which ship he was on.

I have obtained his Service Records from National Archives but no ships are listed.  His record is noted that he was charged and imprisoned for begging in 1931 however he was invalided out of RMLI in 1916 so my next question is why would his service records be noted ?

Lastly, will there be any Attestation papers for him and where will I find them? I have been going round in circles trying to decide if it will be National Archives or the National Museum of the Royal Navy.

Thanks, Tricia

The full Attestation papers may be at the Fleet Air Arm Museum but, like the other museums at the NMRN, they are all hands on deck and busy with certain relocation issues until 2021, so are not taking enquiries. 

I'm intrigued that you've found his service record from the National Archive because I haven't been able to track it down. What is his service number?

I can't lay my hands on it at the moment, but if I can find an article that will indicate what was going on 5-18 March (it deals with Gallipoli but I cannot recall if it covers those dates) I will let you know.

sJ