Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Information required

Hi, 

i am researching my family tree but am struggling to find anything at all about me great grandad H Hewitt. All we have is his medals from the First World War showing he was P-2357 lance corporal H Hewitt MFP. On ancestry we can find his list of medals but nothing else in the WW1 records. Is there anywhere else I can search? 

Thanks

Good afternoon, I am trying to find information about my great grandad. All we know is that he was in the Military Foot police and was P-2357 Lance corporal H Hewitt. This information is from the medals we have. We don’t even know his first name but think he was from the Lancashire area. Any help as to where we can go to get any information would be appreciated.

Kim. 

This is his Medal Index Card in The National Archives at Kew, downloadable for £3.50 - I am no expert but I am not sure if it will tell you much more than you have already (except his first posting to a theatre of war).

http://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/details/r/D2839204

The same information will be on FindMyPast which you should be able to access for free at your local public library.

Via Ancestry too - he was in France from 15.12.15 to 02.10.18 according to his Military Police Corps medal roll (showing he was previously in the MFP). Awarded the 1914/15 Star (MPC), British War and Victory medals. No christian name on the rolls or MIC sorry to say. Do you have any details of relations?

Mike

Edited by Langdon

• Admin

Kim,

Welcome to the forum.I have merged this with the other post you made about the same man to avoid confusion and repetition of replies.

Michelle

Hi Kim,