Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Unknown British Officer Caterpillar Valley Plot 16.E.14

Waterloo Wanderer

Hi All,

As I am a relative newbie to the forum and a novice at this type of research, I would appreciate the opinion and input from the more experienced researchers!  I believe that Unknown British Officer located in Caterpillar Valley Cemetery Plot 16.E.14 is likely Captain Lewis de Burgh Atkinson, 2nd Bn Royal Sussex.  Atkinson is currently listed at Thiepval.

Atkinson was mentioned as killed in the 2nd Bn RSR war diary on the night of 16/17 Aug 1916 during a German counterattack on a trench (Clark’s Trench) that the Royal Sussex and the 1st Bn Northants had captured earlier that day.  The trench (from 1st div order No. 172) ran from approximately 57c.S.3.d.4.8 to 57s.S.3.c.6.9.   During the counterattack that killed Atkinson, 30 other RSR soldiers were killed.  Of the 30 killed, 7 were identified and are buried at Caterpillar Valley Cemetery (3 others were identified and are located in other cemeteries).  In looking through the COGs, 5 of these identified were recovered in very close proximity to Clark’s Trench.  Two (Ptes H Davies and H Saunders) were listed as found at 57c.S.3.a.3.8 (see the COG and GRRF below) which would have located them further to the north and into German trench territory at that time. This does not make complete sense to me considering that they were killed along with the other RSR soldiers in a German counterattack.  Interestingly, if the COG contains a clerical/transcription error and the bodies were actually found at 57c.S.3.c.3.8.  It puts them in close proximity to Clark’s trench and alongside the other RSR fallen.  For reference, the other RSR identified in Caterpillar valley were located at 57c.S.3.c.2.8. (Sgt GC Reeves, L/Cpl GS Knight, Pte S Osborne), 57c.S.3.c.4.8. (Cpl F Tucknott) and 57c.S.3.c.9.8 (Pte F Clayton).