Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Submarines - John Vincent

londons

Hi,

This is a bit of a long shot!!

My great grandfather had a brother John Vincent. No one knows a single thing about him except he served on a submarine during the War and a story of a major incident of the submarine starting to dive and sea water flooding in causing gas to be released from the batteries and the commanders having to hold the men back from escaping with revolvers.

As a relative layman I would guess that there weren't too many subs in WW1??

Does anyone know of anything to do with the subs during the war, any names, how many there were, where they were based or even of such an incident?

Hope you can help.

Many thanks,

Lee

Lots of RN submarines in WW1 and lots of books on the subject matter (although at first it doesn't seem so). "Britsub" would be a good, basic grounding in the different classes then in use.

Flooding through an open conning tower hatch leading to water seeping into the battery space under the floor of the control room was a frequent occurrence, since conning towers of WW1-era British boats were on the whole little more than a man's height tall, and British-designed battery casings were pretty poor leading to water mixing with the electrolyte and forming chlorine gas. There were also accidents whereby hatches and ventilators were inadvertantly left open upon diving - for they were still learning and coping with new designs and demands. Water also used to enter in stormy weather, and often in very significant amounts, prompting similar concerns.

I have not heard of the incident during my studies on the subject, but am intrigued by it: is it a family tale or have you encountered any other substantiation?