Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

British Regiment Identification

Guest reddfc

I am trying to identify the three regiments of the men in the photographs below. I suspect that the chap sitting down was in the Lancashire Fusiliers. If so this is my Great Uncle Andrew McKenna who died at Ypres on 1st August 1917.

I do not know the gentleman standing next to him but he appears to be in a different regiment based on his cap badge.

The soldier on his own, and on the horse, is my Great Grandad Herbert Carter. I do not know his regiment or his rank. The stick and braiding suggest he is above the rank of private but I know very little about this subject. He lived all of his life in Radcliffe, Lancashire, England and died in 1962 aged 83.

I shall be very grateful if anyone will help identify the regiments and ranks.

Dave C

post-23-1106390929.jpg

I'm not a expert, but i would say the man standing in the "Pair" photo was Royal Engineers.

There are more experienced pals that can help further

Is there any way of enlarging the badges?

Mark

From the shape of the badge, the chap on the left by himself (your Great Grandad) might be 1st Dragoon Guards? Or North Somerset Yeomanry, Middlesex Yeomanry, Devonshires or a Guards Regiment?

If you can do a better scan of the badge it would certainly help.

Alan

The Chap standing With the Swagger Stick is Army Service Corps{& I assume he is also the Chap aboard The Grey?}The Bandolier & Lanyard are commonly worn by ASC Men.[As is the Horse!The ASC probably had More Horses than all the Cavalry Put together?

The Chap Sitting Does appear,as you hoped,to be Lancashire Fusiliers!

The other Fellow Standing aside him may well be RE as suggested.

They dont seem to have any "Rank" Badges so would suggest {@ least when the Pictures were taken that they were "Privates" though the LF Does have what might be a Drummer's Sleeve Badge?