Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Hohenzollern Redoubt - Incident leading to Victoria Cross for Colonel Sir Charles Geoffrey Vickers - a family mystery

PixelDust

I have been told a story passed down in the family, about the time my Great Grandad supposedly pulled the pins and passed grenades/bombs to a comrade who threw them into an enemy trench and subsequently was awarded a VC for this. Several other stories have been passed down through the same route and, since I got hold of my Great Grandad's war record for WW1 I have been able to verify the majority of what I have been told. His record clearly mentions specific wounds that tie into other stories, so I have very much come to trust them.

Great Grandad Joseph Caine 2140 / 4962312 was in the Sherwood Foresters, 2/7th, 1/7th and 7th as far as I can make out. Having done a little research (I'm very new to this!) the only VC I can locate that sounds anything like this story was that recieved by Colonel Sir Charles Geoffrey Vickers for his actions at Hohenzollern Redoubt on 14 Oct 1915. The article announcing the VC award indeed describes two men passing bombs and creating a barrier. The only problem with this is the dates I can find in his war record. He's shown as being in France until the 6th of October and Home from the 7th. So he wasn't there. Is it possible that the records are innacurate? Are they always spot on? Or does anyone have any knowledge of any other similar event which could have become confused with this incident as the story was passed down?

Thanks in advance

47438191_361753001247256_943271214447591424_n.jpg

jcpcaine1.jpg

Edited by PixelDust

Dear PixelDust,

I have found that the Great War records are accurate, more often than not.

My Grandfather (AIF Capt later CMF Lt-Col W. F. Lindsay, MC, ED; 1880-1940) was wounded in a VC action at Peronne on 1 Sep 1918 (MC to 53 Bn Coy Cdr Capt Lindsay).