Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

RN Service Record

stevejgarton

Trying to make sense of my grandfathers WW1 service record. I have no knowledge of these documents and I would appreciate any help.

To start I have attached 2 clips and would like to know where Hadar Hosp (I think it reads) is or was.

The other clip "employment" looks like he was demobbed in 1919 from Sheerness. Can someone please shed some light on HMS Actaeon and the various reference numbers.

Thanks

Steve

Harry Duffin RN Reserve Service Record-page-001.jpg

Harry Duffin RN Reserve Service Record-page-002.jpg

The hospital is the Royal Naval Hospital, Haslar, Gosport.

He was demobilised from HMS ACTAEON, the torpedo school and parenting base for boats of the Auxiliary Patrol  at Sheerness.

3 minutes ago, horatio2 said:

The hospital is the Royal Naval Hospital, Haslar, Gosport.

He was demobilised from HMS ACTAEON, the torpedo school and parenting base for boats of the Auxiliary Patrol  at Sheerness.

Thanks, very interesting. It looks like HMS Actaeon was shore based, would that mean he did not see active service, as it does seem from the record card that he was a reserve.

The records are for a rating in the Royal Naval Reserve but appear to be for two different men. Was your grandfather Henry Duffin, 2361.SD, RNR,  as shown in the first clip? Duffin was invalided out of the RNR on 28 Mar 1918, so he could not have been demobilised eleven months later.

15 minutes ago, horatio2 said:

The records are for a rating in the Royal Naval Reserve but appear to be for two different men. Was your grandfather Henry Duffin, 2361.SD, RNR,  as shown in the first clip? Duffin was invalided out of the RNR on 28 Mar 1918, so he could not have been demobilised eleven months later.