Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

When were flamethrowers used in World War 1?

Hi guys so I am new to this whole thing and this is my first thing, but I am going to do my best. So flamethrowers, really long so I am just going to use abbreviations, were first introduced in 1900 and were tested secretly by the Imperial German Army the next year in 1901. Although the German Army took full credit on the FT, the were actually invented by the Chinese in the 10th Century. If you don't know what a FT is, it is a man made portable weapon that squirts out burning fuel.

6794749.jpeg

Ms Addy J,

I cannot answer your specific question, but others will be able to.

Suggest that you scroll back to find posts by Bob Lembke.

Sadly, he died last year but his father had been a member of an elite assault troop squad (sturmtruppen) and I believe that they 

had been equipped with flame-throwers.

Bob L recounted many of his father’s activities here on the forum.

Regards,

JMB

Not my subject but I always understood the German Army first tested the flamethrower around 1901/1902 but operational trials of the flamethrower had to wait until late 1914 in the Argonne. The first organised group attack was in July 1915 near Hooge Crater outside Ypres.

Hi J

Welcome to the Forum.

I believe that the first flame throwers were used by the Germans during the attack on British troops at Hooge, 30th July, 1915.

Robert 

That sinister and notorious Butte  de  Vauqois in the Argonne has a little plaque - amongst the ubiquitous and interlinked craters -  commemorating a French infantry company that was the first to experience “ martyrdom” in a German flamethrower attack.  If memory serves me, this was in the late spring or early summer of 1915 : I recall taking note of the date being earlier than the Hooge attack that we Brits normally identify as the first flamethrower attack. It was definitely 1915, though. 

Phil

• 1 month later...

Phil,