Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

John Hulme Born 1890

susan2603

Hi, Am researching John Hulme born Chapel le frith Derbyshire.Have found some Military Records enlisting into the RAF 28 Dec 1914. Service No.2660. Think it says he was promoted to Sergeant in 1917.Also mentions he was at Duxford. Any help in explaining what he would have been doing ,and where he was posted would be of great help as I'm a beginner in all this as you may have guessed . Many thanks in advance .

https://search.ancestry.co.uk/cgi-bin/sse.dll?indiv=1&dbid=61400&h=159673&tid=&pid=&usePUB=true&_phsrc=eYM2&_phstart=successSource

Edited by susan2603

• Admin

Good morning Susan and welcome to the forum.

I can see J Hulme 2660 did enlist in the RFC (as it was prior to April 1918) and was promoted to Sergeant Mechanic with his trade being Rigger (Aero) here http://www.rafmuseumstoryvault.org.uk/archive/hulme-j

His service records may be on Find My Past - is that where you found him and did it definitely confirm his date and place of birth? Otherwise there are a number of J Hulme in the RAF according to National Archive records (only visible on FMP, which I don't have).

I can't find a Medal Index Card (MIC) for him, someone else may be able to, but if not then that would suggest he didn't serve overseas.

The Long Long Trail link above has loads of info on how to research an individual and the experts here can be very helpful too.

Feel free to ask any questions and good luck with your research.

David

Hi David sorry forgot to mention J Hulme was my Grandmothers first husband. So know his dates and place of birth are correct.I found his RAF records on Ancestry. Some of which also mention promotions.Also other records which i cannot read or understand what they are as some of writing has faded . Many thanks for your help.

• Admin

Susan