Remembered Today:

13th Middlesex Regiment

If any members ever need help with anything regarding the 13th Battalion Middlesex Regiment please feel free to ask as i have been collecting and researching them for 30 years now as my both Great Grandfathers and their brothers served , so i have an extensive knowledge regarding stuff on them

• 1 month later...

Tankie,

I’ve been trying to research the movements and history of my great grandfather, Pte Arthur Attwell G/42703, 13th Middlesex Regiment.  I know his records were destroyed during the Blitz and all that remains is a medal card.  He was killed June 20, 1917 with several others near what I believe to be Battle Wood. I’ve read the war diary entries for several days on either side of his death. I don’t know what company he was in and the maps I’ve found don’t have trench names or units shown to be in the area.   I’ve seen his name on the Menin Gate and found information on him through census records and “Tipton Remembers”.   Another member on the forum has a relative with a serial number 9 digits off from Arthur. They probably stood in line together...  Anything you have to offer would be appreciated. I’d like to get it narrowed down to the point where I can take another trip to Ypres and make it to the area where he was killed.   Thanks in advance,

Bryan

Hi Bryan,