Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

No 148473 ? Bolinbourne Royal field artillery special reserve, P.O.W

Bilo76

New on here , but I’ve come across a lithograph king George returned  solider p.o.w letter ,

to a   R.f.a , special resevrve  Bolinbourne ? First name can’t make out but think it’s 4 letters long , I’d love to find some info on this person , i have searched but can’t anyone by that name , but I’m no expert  , so any help would be great full , thanks 

586BB6E9-0769-4775-BFBB-925872BEFCDA.jpeg

Edited by Bilo76

Welcome to the forum.

It would be best to scan and post the image here.

It is Thomas Albert Collingbourne, I suspect

Edited by charlie962

And his ICRC card is here, giving two references  PA35948 and PA36995

If you type in those references you will find the backing sheets showing when and where he was captured, plus his birthplace and date

He was taken Juvincourt 27/5/18, unwounded. Unit given as 3 RFA which might mean a variety of things.( there are a number of other men on list with same unit)

born 30/10/98 Birmingham, Mother's address  1 Court, 6 House, Cowper St, Birmingham

Edited by charlie962

Hi thanks a lot , I’ll have a look though the info you gave me ) I’ll put an image on of the letter , I actually found it thrown out with rubbish in a skip from an old club in Birmingham ! Shame and sad how people treat these objects thanks again 

I suspect the 3 RFA should be 33 Bde RFA who were in action there that day with 8th Division. Certainly some of the other men on the same PoW list were in that Bde. It is possible he was either 32 or 33 Battery within that Brigade. You will notice that similar shortening for those in 57 Battery to just '5' apears on these lists.

There is a War Diary on Ancestry here (or available on Discovery National Archives). The Brigade had a considerable number of missing that day- 18 officers are listed here: