Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

V.A.D. nurse's Red Cross Armband

high wood

I bought this Red Cross armband at a recent antique fair and was very pleased with it, but thought that there was little that I could do to research the original owner.

Badges 016.JPG

Badges 018.JPG

How wrong was I. I have owned it for several weeks and was showing it to a friend yesterday. It was only then that I noticed the small pocket sewn onto the back of the armband.

Badges 019.JPG

And in the pocket was the corresponding certificate.

Badges 020.JPG

Badges 021.JPG

Badges 024.JPG

The frustrating thing is that the armband number does not appear on the VAD card so cannot be used as a means of tracing anyone else

. Excellent find. I have my grandmother's armband (but not the paperwork) from 1918 and will see if it has an individual number. Edit-or even a hidden pocket?

Charlie

Edited by charlie962

I had found the VAD card yesterday but it is very difficult to read the handwriting. The transcription wrongly states 110 Sussex rather than 110 Surrey. The spelling of Waverley Abbey Hospital appears to have the letters in the wrong order.

What I haven't yet worked out yet is that the card indicates home service only, so why was she issued with a Red Cross armband if she was not in the face of the enemy?

Highwood

The VADs of the British Red Cross wore the insignia as a matter of course. The VADs of the Order of St John wore a badge with the insignia of the order of St John. Non faced the enemy directly although some were killed in air raids.

Sue Light's article will help:

http://www.scarletfinders.co.uk/157.html

TR

3 hours ago, Terry_Reeves said:

Highwood

The VADs of the British Red Cross wore the insignia as a matter of course. The VADs of the Order of St John wore a badge with the insignia of the order of St John. Non faced the enemy directly although some were killed in air raids.

Sue Light's article will help: