Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help ID this please

MN Doughboy 1918

I'm not an expert but it looks like it might be a 37mm shell from a Canon d'Infanterie de 37 modèle 1916 (37mm mle.1916) - 37mm Infantry Gun

The US used quite a lot of these in WWI and they were also fitted to US Tanks I think (post war?)

I believe PE &M Co is Poole Engineering & Machine Co.,BALTIMORE MD.

Chris

Yes, that looks like a 37mm piercing shot - chilled iron. 

I once had one with what I took to be a shrapnel shell with a hollow casing and a nose fuze.

I wonder what the barrel pressure must've been like to engrave such a heroically wide driving band into the rifling? It's 4 or 5 times the width you'd expect.

Hi 4th Gordons,

By coincidence, I have a 37mm Model 1916 round in my collection, also made by P E & M Co.  The cartridge headstamp  confirms it is for the 37mm Gun - Model of 1916.  The shell on my example appears identical to that on the round that MN Doughboy has, even down to the marking on the drive band, save mine has an (F) and not (M).  However, the cartridge on my example is much shorter, the cartridge and shell measuring approximately 6.5" and not about 8.5" as does the round in question.

I can't presently answer MN Doughboy's question save to say that the round doesn't appear to be for the Model 1916 Trench Gun but is probably 37mm and may have been designed, with an increased cartridge capacity and therefore velocity, for tank use.

Regards,

Michael.

3 hours ago, Michael Haselgrove said:

I can't presently answer MN Doughboy's question save to say that the round doesn't appear to be for the Model 1916 Trench Gun but is probably 37mm and may have been designed, with an increased cartridge capacity and therefore velocity, for tank use.

Regards,

Michael.

The US had a 37mm anti-tank gun in the inter-war / early WWII period I believe - perhaps it dates from then rather than WWI? (which might explain the longer case?)