Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

The Old Contemptibles' Association

AndrewThornton

There have been several posts, over many years, regarding aspects of The Old Contemptibles' Association and their membership - the Chums. I have recently posted this article on my blog, based on research I have been doing for many years, which might be of use to members of the GWF and may provide some answers and sources of information for further study. The link for the article is provided below: 

https://ourwar1915.wordpress.com/2018/09/13/in-search-of-the-chums-the-surviving-legacy-of-the-old-contemptibles-association/

You might like this photo, thought to be in Brixton. My grandfather 4th from right, back row was an Old Contemptible, once of 1st Middlesex.

The IWM have (had?) a good collection of the Old Contemptible' Association journals, I read a number of them about 5 years ago after which they were vacuum packed to “preserve” them. Mind you, that method does not work if they tip them into the skip.

Howard

Chums.jpg

2 hours ago, AndrewThornton said:

There have been several posts, over many years, regarding aspects of The Old Contemptibles' Association and their membership - the Chums. I have recently posted this article on my blog, The link for the article is provided below: 

https://ourwar1915.wordpress.com/2018/09/13/in-search-of-the-chums-the-surviving-legacy-of-the-old-contemptibles-association/

Many thanks for posting Andrew. 

I thought the Blazer badge might be of interest, and wondered if you had any information on the Social Club badge?

391.jpg

OCB.jpg

Old Cs Wives.jpg

That is a fantastic photograph, Howard. What was your Grandfather's name?