Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Private Mark Crossey, 36th (Ulster) Cyclist Company, Service N° 6402

George Millar

Hi all,

I’m doing some research on the above soldier who was born on the 11th September 1899 in Belfast to parents William Edward Crossey & Annie Kilpatrick.  By the time of the 1901 Census of Ireland the family was living at 108 Cromac Street in Belfast.  Mark’s father was a Grocer by trade and it seems the family had a grocers shop in the city.  In 1904 Mark’s father died at the age of 35 years in Lisburn, Co Antrim where the Crossey family had originated come from.  By the time of the 1911 Census of Ireland the family had relocated and was now living at 114 Ormeau Road in Belfast, Mark’s mother taking over the family business.

When war broke out in August 1914 Mark was 15 years and would have still been at school but it seems that he was determined to join the Army.  Sometime in early 1915 he enlisted into the 36th (Ulster) Division Cyclist Company, he was still only 15 years old and underage.  He left for France with the rest of the 36th (Ulster) Division on the 3rd October 1915 (just turned 16 years old) disembarking at Le Havre on the 4th October 1915.  Mark was a member of the Fitzroy Avenue Presbyterian Church in Belfast and in their War Memorial he is listed as having been wounded.

Having looked through the War Diary for the 36th (Ulster) Cyclist Company until its disbandment,  I can only find one soldier listed as having been wounded, Private W Barry, S/N° 5942 wounded on the 15th/16th November 1915. The Company seemed to supply many of their men for other duties eg attached to the 150th Company Royal Engineers or the 76th Sanitary Section etc.  According to their diary, when the company was disbanded at the end of May 1916, half of the men were transferred to the15th Batt Royal Irish Rifles and the other half which became “B” Company in the “X”th Corps Cyclist Battalion.