Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

:Lithgow Stock (Butt) Marks.

I am new to this and have recently acquired a Lithgow SMLE 1918 with a host of markings on the stock / butt.

I was wondering whether someone out there could walk me through the marks?

I have ""A (Kangaroo) C in a shield,  2MD, GMF, 7/19, HV and III*. "   I have an idea of some of them but rather than display my ignorance I would welcome any interpretations from anyone who may have come across these before.  Thanks.

Edited by Guest
Spellings.

I can answer the easy ones,

2MD = 2nd Military District of Australia 

HV = High Velocity, referring to Mk. VII cartridge 

III* = Three star, the Mark of SMLE which had the magazine cut-off & long range volley sights deleted from the design.

7/19 = July, 1919

Regards,

JMB

Edited by JMB1943
add info

2MD - 2nd Military District, was in essence, the state of New South Wales. The MDs were essentially state-based, starting with 1MD = Qld; 2MD=NSW; 3MD=Victoria; 4MD = South Australia; 5MD=Western Australia, 6MD = Tasmania; 7MD = Northern Territory.

Mike

Edited by MKC

• 2 years later...
On 27/07/2018 at 08:33, shippingsteel said:

GMF  CMF = Citizen Military Forces

One small correction.. on the rifle, the acronym CMF actually stands for Commonwealth Military Forces

Dan

19 hours ago, Fromelles said:

One small correction.. on the rifle, the acronym CMF actually stands for Commonwealth Military Forces

Here is one Reference they are many and varied ...

"The Lee Enfield", Ian Skennerton, page 587

Edited by shippingsteel

6 hours ago, shippingsteel said:

SS,

I'm not saying that CMF wasn't also used to signify Citizen Military Forces (c.1916 onwards), however when it comes to the marking of arms and equipment, from pre- and during WWI (possibly well beyond), it stood for Commonwealth Military Forces. 

The land forces of Australia was know as -