Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Identifying a cap badge

PeterThorn

I was hoping someone might be able to help me identify the cap badge on attached photo. To me it looks like a fusilier regiment but I am no expert and have been unable to narrow it down further. I recently came into passion of some family photos and the soldier in the picture may be a great uncle. If I can identify the regiment I may then be able to confirm my hunch.

Thanks in advance, Peter

Untitled-1.jpg.0dce11c78846d0e5c50530831a27c4cd.jpg

Royal Fusiliers? Does your family have connections to London?

Yep, Royal Fusiliers is correct. Shape is right.

Chris

royal_fusiliers_cap_badge.jpg

He could also be ‘London Regiment’ in one of four units (1st to 4th - more if you count 2nd and 3rd Line battalions) of that very large regiment of 27 units (confusingly numbered to 28) that we’re aligned with the Royal Fusiliers and thus wore the exact same cap badge, but different shoulder titles.  This can often be confused because of the Royal Fusiliers secondary title as the City of London Regiment, but the latter were regulars, whereas the entire London Regiment were Territorial Force citizen soldiers.  I hope that helps.

Edited by FROGSMILE

Thank you to everyone who has replied.

Robin - this branch of my family come from London so the Royal Fusiliers fits. 

Dragoon - your clear photo does seem match that from my photo. When searching for this soldier I identified several possibilities with the same name belonging to other Fusilier regiments. I was fairly sure it was a Fusilier regiment but wasn't sure which one.

Frogsmile - I must admit I got a bit confused with the Royal Fusiliers and City of London Regiment. 

So gentlemen with your help I think I have identified the person in the photo as my great uncle and now can put a name to the photo - Albert William Thorn. He joined the 14 Btn Royal Fusiliers then transferred to the R.A.S.C. in December 1918.