Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Richard Markham Clarckson border regiment

Luca

Hi All 

I'm looking for records of a family member Richard Markham Clarckson born in in Ardwick Manchester 1882/83 and when he was seventeen joined the 5th Manchester battalion in 1900 (service number: 7037) not sure how long he served for but left before the start of ww1. I was wondering if there are any ww1 records for him as with him being an ex soldier I would have thought he would have re-joined at the out break of ww1.

Thanks Luca

Hi,

Have you looked on Ancestry and or Findmypast for his papers? I’d expect his Manchester Regiment papers to be available online.

Have you got some indication that he served in The Border Regiment?

There is a Medal Index Card for a R M Clarkson who served in Border Regiment. There are a number of R Clarkson service records on Ancestry but it’s against forum rules to post them. You can get free access to Ancestry and FMP at your local library if you don’t wish to take out a trial membership.

Steve

Hi Steve 

I have found some documents for a Richard Markham Clarkson border regiment but nothing else like when he re-joined where he served and what battalion of the borders he was in.

Thanks Luca

Hi,

Your best bet would be to look for soldiers with Border Regiment numbers close to his and see if any records survive for those men as they will have followed his initial route into the Army - if no service records then Silver War Badge records give a date of enlistment.

Not all pre war soldiers re enlisted on the outbreak of war and sometimes those that did were speedily discharged on health grounds -some of those were conscripted as medical standards were reviewed. On the other hand your relative would be 32 in 1914 and perhaps married with a family and not in a position to re enlist. Do you know where he was living on 1911 census?