Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

English soldiers with Irish ancestry (2nd generation)

TGM

I  must admit my knowledge of C19th/C20th Irish-London political and family history is fairly patchy but I'm hoping someone could enlighten me ...
I've been researching a fallen captain on and off for a year or so. A medic by profession he enlisted in 1914, and makes Captain by 1917 and sees service in India and Mesopotamia until his death in 1919.
What intrigues me is that at times he or others dropped the O' surname prefix (though it is the same person - official records (including probate confirm this)) and I wonder whether this was common, a common mistake or an attempt to avoid discrimination or even association with his father.  I mention the latter because whilst searching newspaper archives I came across a few articles in a Dublin based newspaper which suggest his father (and seemingly he himself) were active members of the United Irish League of Great Britain, indeed his father is reportedly chair of a Greater London branch of the organisation.

My imagination has been running riot, but suspect I'm adding 2+2 and making 5.

Any thoughts or useful pointers to further reading are gladly received.
Edited by TGM

I have had similer problems with my Irish ancestry.

As I understand it the "o" means grandson of ,and Mac means son of similer to the Scotish "Macs".

Again ,as I understand it, when the Grandfather dies the son and grandson move up the chain so to speke. The son of the deceased loses the "Mac" the grandson becomes the "Mac" and his son becomes "o".

However once my ancesters arrived in England the prefixes were no longer used.

My ancestry is further complicated by changes in the spelling of my surmane.

Criteria for inclusion in 26 County Casualties of the Great War-

Born in the 26 Counties.

Lived in the 26 Counties.

Next of kin living in the 26 Counties.

Buried in the 26 Counties.