Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

RAF (A&S), puzzled over jacket sleeve with naval badge

mstowe

I am puzzling over a photo that I have of two officer pilots at an Ontario flight training school, about 1918, and their jackets have the naval style round albatross sleeve badge. It's confusing, what kind of pilot officer would wear a sleeve like that?

If a pilot was in the RAF A&S (land and seaplanes), is it possible that they would wear a naval style sleeve badge like that?

(excuse me if I don't have the terminology correct for sleeves)

Edited by mstowe

Recent threads on formation of RAF in April 1918 have noted that former RFC members continued to wear their old  RFC uniforms for some considerable time afterwards. I presume the same would be true for ex RNAS ?

Charlie

I'm not a uniforms expert by any means, but the point raised is interesting nevertheless. 
 After scratching around the web for a while, I see that Observers and Navigators: And Other Non-Pilot Aircrew in the RFC, RNAS and RAF by Wg Cdr C.G. Jefford, provides some useful info in footnote 14 on page 106 [found via Google books]

AMWO 99 of 17 April 1918 allowed the continued use of RNAS badges until the introduction of new RAF ones, and allowed the then current uniforms to also continue to be worn

A change was eventually made in October 1918 [AMWO 1140] when only either army or RAF 'blue' uniforms were allowed in public. However, on base older (presumably including RNAS) uniforms could still be worn as working dress

1st January 1919: no further army style uniforms purchased

The now familiar RAF blue/grey was introduced 1st October 1919

Returning to 1918 – there's a photograph here http://www.207squadron.rafinfo.org.uk/ww1/1918.htm of 207 Squadron RAF dated 29th August 1918 which displays the varied range of uniforms allowed at that time

Edited by michaeldr