Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Assistance with wounded aerial gunner please

adam1981

Hello all,

I am researching a 223943 John Knight who served as an aerial gunner with 211 and 49 squadron in 1918. The service record states 'M.G.Wd Lt thigh fracture femur'. I would be very interested to know any information regarding how or when John was wounded, or who he was flying with, if in deed he was flying? 

I am not very experienced in ready RAF service records or research.

If John was an aerial gunner as his record indicates, i did not realise that Private ranks had this role?

Any help much appreciated,

Adam

Not giving the date makes it a little more of a challenge, but I think I've found him.  According to "The Sky their Battlefield II" on 19 May 1918 DH9 serial No. C6181 of 49 squadron on a bombing mission was in combat with German D-types near Harbonnieres at 7.15pm, was hit in the engine and forced to land at Rainneville (Lt CG Capel wounded and 1AM J. Knight wounded).  A DH9 was claimed by Vfw W. Gabriel of Jasta 11 at 10pm NE of Marcelcave.

My understanding is that it was not unusual for non-officer ranks to act as gunners in cases such as bombing where an observer officer was not needed. There was a pay incentive.

According to Capel's casualty form, he suffered a GSW to the left upper arm.  He had been with the Squadron since 10th March.  https://www.casualtyforms.org/form/2618

The AIR 1/855 report for the aircraft quoted on airhistory.org.uk states "f/l Rainniville after attack by enemy aircraft during bombing Bray. Lt CG Capel inj/223943 1AM J Knight inj [Regt no. not shown]"  http://www.airhistory.org.uk/rfc/files/C1-C9999.csv

Hope this helps

Piers

Edited by pierssc

Hello