Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Can anyone Tell me as much information as possible about the markings on this Shell casing

Conchita

I found an Old 4.5 Howitzer shell casing in my fathers shed (he had been using it as an ashtray) which i am sure he got from his father, i managed to clean it up and it has all sorts of markings on it, so feel free to treat me as a complete Novice.
Apologies for the Brightness of the Light in the middle of the shell (but it does not obscure any markings) it was the best i could get it to show up all the markings in one photo.

i include 2 of the middle part (yes i did say a complete novice lol)

I think i understand the 2 upper and lower holes in the center of the casing is to take out the central piece, but not sure what the slightly two smaller holes are for.

so the things i would like to know are: what EACH marking on it may mean, i tired looking up the two on the right but coming up with not much  information.
many thanks in advance for as much info as you can throw my way

01.jpg

02.jpg

03.jpg

Hi Conchita,

Welcome to the Forum.  You have a 4.5" Howitzer cartridge manufactured in 1916.  The A. & J.M.A. MFG CO. marking is the manufacturer of the cartridge namely the Albert & J.M Anderson Mfg. Co. U.S.A.  In respect of the central piece, that is the primer, it was manufactured in March 1916.  The initials M.W.T. / E.A. are the manufacturer which was Marconi Wireless Co., Marconi Works, Chelmsford. 

No doubt others will come up with more information. 

Hope this is of interest.

Michael. 

so the Casing was made in the USA and then shipped to the UK and then the Primer put in? or did they ship them out to where they were fighting and then put them together?
how can it be so precise of the month and year of Primer Manufacture is that the 3/16 at the bottom?
and thanks for the information, its getting really interesting.