Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Timothy John cullen

My guess is that the one on the left is a horse.

23 hours ago, mancpal said:

My guess is that the one on the left is a horse.

Gee. thanks ..what about the one one on the right?.. But seriously I would deem it a favour if some one could help me kind regards John. 

Hi

Welcome to the forum. I suggest you change the post heading, ie. Identify uniform etc. Looks like an Australian  Imperial Forces uniform to me going off the hat. BUT I am not an expert. If he was in France in 1914 then he would qualify for the 14/15 Star which cuts the search down a great deal.

Regards Barry

No Australian Imperial Force men in France in 1914, surely, and I couldn't find "John Joseph Fields" in the AIF personnel dossiers for the Boer and Great Wars.

I know little about uniforms, but Fields' reminds me of some of those worn by British Volunteer Battalions in the very early 20th century.

The annotation would appear to be a modern one.

As Barry suggests, an improved post heading might attract those who know something about uniforms. (Very few of us have the time to look at every new thread to see if it's within our own area of interest.)

And some background might also help. Is he a family member? Where did the photo come from? And so on.

Welcome to the Forum, by the way, John, and good luck with your query.

Moonraker

Hi John

The photo you have posted is on a public tree on Ancestry, showing John Joseph Fields, 17th London Regt. Rifleman, 3160 enlisted  7.9.14. disch.24.8.16. wounds. SWB No. 52020. Born 1885 Liverpool,  Buried 11 Dec 1942, Ford Cemetery, Lancashire.

Regards Barry

2 hours ago, Timothy John cullen said:

Gee. thanks ..what about the one one on the right?.. But seriously I would deem it a favour if some one could help me kind regards John. 

The only John J. with overseas service is a John James Fields.