Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Fifinella

I wonder if anybody can help me. I am trying to research a tank that went by the name 'Fifinella' and its occupants. A six year-old post lists it as 'ditched, commander & 1 crew killed'. Where might I find more complete information? I am looking for names and dates or as complete a story as possible. I am a history teacher and like to bring my topics to life by highlighting individuals or specific stories to make it all real to teenage students.

On 09/04/2018 at 17:58, Kranepool7 said:

six year-old post

This one?

Finfinellla was an F Bn Mk IV tank serial number 2719.  It was in action on 31 Jul 17 at 3rd Ypres and 21 Nov 17 at Cambrai.  The Comd on 31 Jul was Lt N T Connell.  It ditched.  There is a little more detail here.

https://sites.google.com/site/landships/home/narratives/1917/3rdypresnarratives/3rdypresnarratives-byunit/16company31july1917

Edit: The Comd may have been O'Connell (and opposed to Connell that I posted originally).  According to the 6th Bn history he was injured.  He went on to serve in the 15th Bn where he was captain of the rugby team. 

Edited by Gareth Davies

Western Morning News 13 August 1917

image.png.1ae4717aaf09b9d25ca2004034a0388f.png

WOUNDED

image.png.a4a8a09b158aba2621bd571532433b2b.png

Thanks Kath for confirming that.

His address from his Medal Index Card:

2, Arran Road,

Whitehall,

Dublin.

14 hours ago, Kranepool7 said:

'ditched, commander & 1 crew killed'.

The post says:

"ditched, commander & 1 crew wounded"