Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

THE DROWNED AND THE SAVED

mbriscoe

• 1 year later...

I have this book listing those who managed to swim ashore and I wondered if this list is complete as we believed that my father swam ashore that day.  He was Able Seaman Charles Creasey..... A stoker ?? 

Beechfield

• Admin
2 minutes ago, Beechfield said:

I have this book listing those who managed to swim ashore and I wondered if this list is complete as we believed that my father swam ashore that day.  He was Able Seaman Charles Creasey..... A stoker ?? 

Beechfield

Welcome to the forum

Might I suggest you start a new thread in the Sailors section with his name as the title? Plus add any info you have on him as that will help.

Good luck with your search

David

Thanks David

I am very new to this and I really would like to find out if my father was on the Otranto when it sank on 6th October 1918, or was it another of his  'stories' !!

Beechfield

Able Seaman Charles CREASEY, SS.7815, born Walworth 3 November 1898. Served in OTRANTO from 5 July 1918. and was still serving in the ship when she sank.

Thank you so much Horatio2

This is so good to know.  We were a bit doubtful about this because his record shows that he was in Chatham the very next day, which seems impossible !

We can find no record of him on Islay, or in THE DROWNED AND THE SAVED, or in Belfast, if he managed to transfer to the Mounsey.

Ir you have any further info we would love to have it.

Thanks again.

Beechfield.

Beechfield

I stand to be corrected but many of the RN personnel on Otranto were Chatham based. Could it be then that the Chatham reference on the day after the sinking simply notes that he was now without a ship but still a Chatham rating?

Dave