Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Military Flying 1908 to 1918 Larkhill

Military Flying 1908 - 1918

BUILDINGS 455 AND 456 (FIVE AIRCRAFT HANGARS), DURRINGTON CAMP. I am starting a project to restore the Hangers at Larkhill to their original condition. You can see progress so far (it is only days since I started, so it is not much) I have contacted the government department concerned. If you can offer any advice please feel free to comment at @militaryflyinglarkhill. I am a true novice at this but I am determined to make it happen. Due to their world-wide importance I feel that it is important to carry out this work in order to provide future generations with an authentic vision of their past both architecturally and historically.

I feel that such a project would contribute to enriching the history of Larkhill and it’s environs and complement and enhance the planned Salisbury Plain Heritage Centre and the Royal Artillery Collection as well the other well-known heritage sites on Salisbury Plain.

It would provide employment opportunities for local tradesmen and others from the local area during the restoration term and into the future as I also see it as adding value to the local area by re-purposing it as an History of Flying Heritage and Exhibition Centre following completion of the restoration.

I do not envisage such work being funded by the MOD but rather by raising money from the general public and other donors.

Welcome to the forum and good luck with your project. I recently wrote a story following an AIF artilleryman's letters, which included many from Larkhill, where he mentioned the RFC Flying School and how busy it was at the time.

Would you be able to post some more images of the surviving hangars? There seems to be only one on your social media site.

Scott