Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Lives of the First World War -subscription Site closing

charlie962

I have just received this notification.

5ab4f238c2a8a_livesoftheFirstWorldWarnoticeofclosure.JPG.dae5294dc57b0ee2babf55ef26c604a8.JPG

Looks like what was basically a very good idea but spoilt by lack of resorces and 'ownership' is coming to an end. Does anyone know more ?

Charlie

Edited by charlie962

I’m a subscriber but not yet had a notification. I appreciate governments’ efforts to digitise and disseminate, but public-private paternerships don’t seem to do great for the public, long-term. 

Definitely lacking in clarity. I have a subscription expiring in April, and it seems that unless I renew before the end of the month I would ahve to pay a higher level of monthly subscription.

No everything is visible, the subscription gives access to sources for which you would always need a subscription (basically it has access to FindMyPast military resources, a selection of censuses 1881-1911, BMDs and a few other things), plus a little bit of extra functionality, primarily the ability to create "communities" which allow you to create groupings of profiles.

Anyone (after creating a free account) can attach links to resources elsewhere, and use those as evidence to update the set of facts that can be associated with an individual.

For example this is a profile I worked on extensively last year https://livesofthefirstworldwar.org/lifestory/1953275, if you click where it says "Evidence" you'll see all the resources that have been linked to this profile.  At the top is "Official Records" which is things accessed through the site, further down is "External Evidence" where I've linked a range of other material, which I've then used to build up the "Facts" and "Stories", many of which are also combined in the "Timeline" to give you an overview of the life.