Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help Id'ing Highland Unit...

Patrick Mooney

Pals,

OK - my first attempt a posting a photo, so here goes nothing.

I rediscovered this photo in my collection, it shows an American, Nathaniel Allen, serving in a Highland unit, and is dated June 12, 18 France.

The only ID is his officer is Mr. Andrews - I cannot make out a badge and am not familiar enough with the kilt patterns.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Patrick

post-1-1053836706.jpg

Apologies all...

Seems I need to crop the image to make it smaller... <_<

However, I could not see the image when I previewed my post...Chris - any ideas what happened that I could not see the image in the preview?

Patrick

Patrick,

I'm not an expert on Highland Regimental Dress, but I think the regiment could be the 'Black Watch', the men are wearing what looks like 'Government Tartan'. The headdress of the ORs is the large Tam O Shanter with 'Toorie' (pom pom) which I think is/was red in colour The headdress on the officer appears to be the 'Balmoral' which was similiar to the ORs Tammie but smaller and of better quality. The Ors are wearing the Scottish pattern service-dress jacket (cut away).

I hope the above is of help, until one of the 'Pals' experts on Scottish Regimental dress comes to the rescue.

Ronnie.

When you preview your post, the image does not appear, when you have decided to post your message you have to load your image again in the 'Browse' button.

Guest Hill 60

Wot, no Sporrans? :D

They might be Cameron Highlanders.

I see that some have collar badges which appear to be vertical, the Camerons had (at some point during or just after the War) a collar badge of a crowned thistle.

I don't believe the Black Watch had collar badges.

The Gordon Highlanders had a tiger as their collar badge.