Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Looking for Map References - Battle of Arras 28th March 1918

Hi,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I have been fascinated with the amount of research and detail on here. My grandfather was wounded at the Battle of Arras on 28th/29th March 1918. I am trying to trace the movements of his regiment and where he may have ended up. I have read the posts by RobertBR and was wondering whether there were map references for the locations - I am ideally looking for lat/long as I hope to plot them onto a map using R programming.

My grandfather was Pte William H Fegan 555524 in the 16th London Regiment. He was sent to the Western Front on 20th Feb 1918 and went over the top at Arras on 28th March. He was blown up by a shell in no man's land. He told my uncle (when he was 88):

“When I came round, I couldn’t see a soul, either British or German. There wasn’t anything moving on the landscape, so I didn’t know which way to go. I could walk, but must have gone in and out of consciousness several times. I eventually fell into a railway cutting where there was a British dressing station. They gave me a shot of something, but wanted to kill me later on, I found out, because I would not stop singing at the top of my voice.”

It would be great to locate the dressing station too.

Thank you

Hi SJK and a warm welcome to the forum. As you have seen the amount of knowledge on here is remarkable; I wouldn't be surprised if you will end up with enough information for a small book.