Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Service Numbers the same.

Carl Dycer

Ok, so here goes. I'm new to searching war records and I know I have much to learn...but you don'y know until you ask. On my very first search using a popular war records provider, it shows two gentlemen with the same service number. Why?

Hello Carl, and welcome to the Forum!

Before 1921 each regiment or corps had its own number system, and often the Regular and Territorial Force battalions of a regiment also had separate systems. The Territorials were re-numbered in 1917 to eliminate some of the duplication.

Ron

Hi,

Army service "numbers" weren't  introduced until 1920 when blocks of numbers were issued to Regiments. The soldier retained the number throughout his service even if he transferred elsewhere.

Prior to that "numbers" were issued on a Regimental basis hence you fill find numerous duplications.

Soldiers would change numbers if transferred to another regiment.

There are even some examples of  soldiers in the same regiment having the same number.

Steve

14 minutes ago, tullybrone said:

Hi,

Army service "numbers" weren't  introduced until 1920 when blocks of numbers were issued to Regiments. The soldier retained the number throughout his service even if he transferred elsewhere.

Prior to that "numbers" were issued on a Regimental basis hence you fill find numerous duplications.

Soldiers would change numbers if transferred to another regiment.

There are even some examples of  soldiers in the same regiment having the same number.

Steve

Thanks Steve. Great piece of info for me.

20 minutes ago, Ron Clifton said:

Hello Carl, and welcome to the Forum!

Before 1921 each regiment or corps had its own number system, and often the Regular and Territorial Force battalions of a regiment also had separate systems. The Territorials were re-numbered in 1917 to eliminate some of the duplication.

Ron