Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Dotters

Gareth Davies

The Tank Corps Gunnery School at Merlimont used Dotters* on all its courses.  I have had a quick rummage around the extensive library and can find a few references to dotters but I can't find out when they entered British service, nor can I find out how widespread their use was.  Are there any Dotter experts out there?

* Dotter:  A training round that allowed a standard weapon to be used without live ammunition, consisting of a spring loaded cartridge, a rod that slid in the barrel and a paper target set about 15 cms in front of the muzzle.  When the gun was fired the sliding rod would make a hole in the paper.

I was fascinated by this and your other thread which opened up a topic I had never considered before. 

Unfortunately I am not an expert and really cannot contribute but I assume your extensive library is similar to mine and you have found this:

http://www.tommy1418.com/uploads/1/2/7/3/12733599/36029449-instructions-for-the-training-of-the-tank-corps-in-.pdf

Published in Dec 1917 it implies Dotters were by then a standardised part of the training for tank crews.

Peter

Yes, it's a well known document Peter.  I know that Dotters were in use long before it was published.

1 hour ago, Gareth Davies said:

The Tank Corps Gunnery School at Merlimont used Dotters* on all its courses.  I have had a quick rummage around the extensive library and can find a few references to dotters but I can't find out when they entered British service, nor can I find out how widespread their use was.  Are there any Dotter experts out there?

* Dotter:  A training round that allowed a standard weapon to be used without live ammunition, consisting of a spring loaded cartridge, a rod that slid in the barrel and a paper target set about 15 cms in front of the muzzle.  When the gun was fired the sliding rod would make a hole in the paper.