Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

4 Brothers that served , 3 KIA ?

Richard Matlock

Hello all , trying to research 4 brother who I think served again I think 3 were sadly KIA but I am not sure as I have not got access to all the sites and I am not very good at seeing the wood for the trees especially with census stuff , the brothers are   

811 Pte. Walter.A. Powell  Royal Warwickshire regiment.

A2209 Pte. William Powell  K.R.R.C  - KIA 30/7/15 

6217 Pte. Alfred Powell 2 batt Coldstream guards – KIA 16/9/16

44321 Acting Bombardier John Nathaniel Powell RFA – KIA 21/2/16.

anything as usual greatly excepted

Rich M 

Alfred was born and enlisted in Birmingham

Hi Rich, 

Walter Austin Powell 1st Btn Royal Warwicks, then Royal Defence Corps #79048, service records under the Walter Powell and number 811 on FindMyPast.

CWGC links.

William Powell 9th Btn KRRC, Effects £3 paid to Mother Mary (Sole Leg) suggests a Soldiers Will...the death on or since is interesting there is a July 1915 date, then a Sept 15 date. SDGW and MIC stated died of wounds/died.

https://www.cwgc.org/find-war-dead/casualty/1624745/powell,-william/

Alfred 2nd Btn Coldstream Guards

https://www.cwgc.org/find-war-dead/casualty/543479/powell,-/

John, 46th Battery 39th Bde RFA

https://www.cwgc.org/find-war-dead/casualty/563712/powell,-john-nathaniel/

I am sure much more will follow, but to see the woods for the trees, maybe a thread for each maybe easier, one at a time?

Andy

Edited by HolymoleyRE

there is another brother, Baden.. honest

John Powell 36
Mary Powell 34
Alfred Powell 13
John Powell 11
Walter Powell 9
William Powell 7
Baden Powell 4/12

This is from the 1901 census - you check the ages against any on the cwgc etc but this seems very likely

Hi,

Alfred Powell will be a 1905 enlistment from his Regimental Number so you may find he was a recalled reservist in August 1914.