Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

Sign in to follow this  
Rex Cox

390 Royal Garrison Artillery

Rex Cox

I'm a newbie on this site so please be gentle if this query is not in the correct format or forum.

I have just returned from three weeks in Italy where I tracked down locations shown in photos left by my grandfather, Reginald Harold Cox, who was a Sergeant in the RGA. My curiosity has deepened as I have come to understand and gain a feeling for his period of service in Italy 1917-18 so I've come back with as many questions as answers.

His photos tell that he was in the 390 RGA but written on the back of one of his photos is;

Piave Front. N. Italy. March 1918. My 6" Howitzer, B Sub-section, 490 Siege Battery, R.G.A"

I can find only a few references to 390 RGA and none for 490. From my readings on this site I believe 390 went to Italy in April/May 1917 And, presumably had to retreat after Caporetto. Can anyone help in directing me to the best places to find out more about where the 390 were stationed and the dates? 

image.jpeg

rflory

The war diary of 390th Siege Battery RGA has not been found but while in Italy the battery served under 104th Brigade, RGA and that brigade's war diary can be found at The National Archives under WO 95/4206.  Lineage Book of British Land Forces 1660--1978 indicates that 490th Siege Battery RGA was formed at Aldershot 15 August 1917 and was disbanded to supply reinforcements for RGA batteries on 10 November 1917.  It is possible that he was originally posted to 490th Siege Battery and then posted to 390th Siege Battery when 490th was disbanded.

Rex Cox

Thank you so much for this information, it gives me a great lead to follow. 

kevinrowlinson