Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

4132 Pte Robert Hawkshaw KOYLI died 3rd July 1916 - info help please

brett361975

I am trying to find any further information regarding Private Robert Hawkshaw 1/5th K.O.Y.L.I who died of wounds on the 3rd July 1916 aged 27.

I can find very little information regarding the 1/5th at the Somme apart from the Battalion suffering terrible losses. Would anyone happen to have the war diarys for the battalion please ?

Also apart from the details from the C.W.G.C referance his resting place and family details I have very little knowledge about this man. A work collegue has asked me to look and see if I can find any information of his relative, is anyone able to help with any information please ?

Kindest regards and thanks in advance

Brett

There are several family trees on Ancestry which include Robert Hawkshaw. I can provide the links if you like. There are also his MIC etc on there.

In summary, he was born in the first quarter of 1888 at or near Oldham in Lancashire. His father was Robert Hawkshaw (1858-1913) and his mother was  Eliza Fish (1857-1895).

At the 1911 census, Robert was living with his father and step-mother (Anna Maria) and younger sister, Edith, at Cawthorne, near Barnsley in Yorkshire. Both father and son were employed as coalminers.

Robert died of his wounds at No 3 CCS according to  the Registers of Soldiers' Effects. His effects were paid to his siblings, William, Lillie (Woodward) and Edith (Jukes).

His MIC says that he first entered a theatre of war on 25 December 1915 (Happy Christmas).

His war gratuity was £4 10s, which I calculate means that he enlisted in about May 1915.

I hope this is of help

David

Edited by David Earley

Hi

very little in the WD