Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Maps of the French Artillery Survey Group, 1917 - ca. 1919

Michael Gurley

As part of my research into my great-grandfather, who served in the MG Co, 104th Infantry Regiment, 26th (Yankee) Division, I'm studying this particular trench map that covers the Foret D'Apremont.

The full resolution copy can be viewed/downloaded at:

https://catalog.archives.gov/id/6997174

My intention is to georeference the image using ArcGIS software and digitize the full map features as vector data layers.  I've been visually creating link points between the trench map and modern aerial photography base layer with reasonable/limited success.

My next attempt was to utilize the gridlines and tic marks that exist on the source document, but I'm having a difficult time determining what exact projection is used.  The margin clearly specifies Lambert, but when I designate my software data frame in various Lambert Coordinate Systems, the cursor/position values do not match up to the grid values shown.

The grid appears to be 100x100m cells.

Perhaps this is going to require a custom geographic projection.  My software might only include "modern" projections.

Has anyone out there undertaken a similar effort with ESRI GIS software and tools?

Thanks in-advance for any advice.

~ Michael

Lambert_Grid_01.JPG

Lambert_Grid_02.JPG

Lambert_Grid_03.JPG

Lambert_Grid_04.JPG

• 2 months later...

I can't provide any help for you but I hope you can crack this nut, I have a burial on a Lambert map that I'd love to sort out in Lat/Long.

The differences between converters are owing to

1. The  figure of the Earth used

2. The Datum

3. Exact projection used- i.e. which specific kind of Lambert projection

4. Meridian used, London St. Paul's, London Greenwich, Brussels Observatory or Paris