Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

Pamela655

Got some old diaries to convert to digital

Pamela655

Hi,

I am a history major student and I need a help. I was able to obtain some very old and rare photographs of the war era and a few diaries of the soldiers. I am so excited to find them. The relics are degrading and I don't want to lose these valuable part of our history.

I want to convert these to digital. The diaries are fragile and I don't want to cause any damage trying to digitize them. My uncle told me to see the document imaging and scanning service in Toronto if I want to scan in high quality. I learned that OCR scanning is better at scanning the books. I will be able to get the library quality images of the pages and images. But, I don't know how costly would that be? Do I need to seek a professional service? My friend is having a personal canon color scanner. Using that is the other option.

Please advise me what I should do.  

4thGordons

Hello- welcome to the forum.

OCR typically does not work very well at all with handwriting so that is probably not going to be of much use.

The trouble with flatbed scanners is it requires the documents to be flat -- which is sometimes difficult if they are bound or in notebooks.

A professional scanning service will no doubt be able to offer advice and a means of doing it -- but this will likely come at a fairly significant price.

I have found (and I have done a number of diaries and lots of letters) that the quickest and easiest way to record the documents in a form from which they can be transcribed is to PHOTOGRAPH them using a digital camera. This is also how many archives copy documents these days.