Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

15 Stars impressed naming for the IARO

Kimberley John Lindsay

Dear GWFs,

The recipients of these six 15 Stars were Officers of the IARO, yet the variations are apparent.

Perhaps IARO afficianados would care to enlarge on this particular topic?

Kindest regards,

Kim. 

P1150446 - Kopie.JPG

15 Star rev 2Lt IARO.jpg

2Lt B. C. Covell, IARO.jpg

Lieut G. B. Roger, IARO.jpg

Rev 1914-15 Star 2Lt Muir.JPG

1914-15 Star (NWF).jpg

Kim:  Some years ago I published an article on the naming styles on 1914-15 Star Medals to British officers in the Journal of the Orders and Medals Society of America that indicated that there were at least six distinct naming styles on those stars and identified the time period over which each style was used.  While I have little knowledge of the naming styles used on 1914-15 Stars to Indian officers I would not be surprised to find that there are a number of different naming styles for those stars.  The stars to Lieut. Goyder and Lieut. Roger appear similar to the style used on some stars to British officers, but I have not seen any medals to British officers with the naming styles used on the stars to Wood, Hauser, Muir and Covell.  The star named to Lieut. Goyder is interesting as no unit is indicated. I will email you a copy of my article.

Regards, Dick Flory

Dear Dick,

Thanks for that. 

Yes, you are right to single out the stars to Goyder and Roger: these were probably Royal Mint-produced. Goyder's was awarded apparently as late as 1930 (which might explain the lack of unit: the IARO having been abolished by then, for example). Goyder was 2xMiD as well as French and Belgian decorations. Roger, who ruined his health following strenuous service on Salonika, got nothing...