Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Who did the Essex Regiment face?

Hi - total newb here to the period but working on a project and looking for a few pointers so I can go off and do some research (rather than bug old hands with a question they have been asked a thousand times.

In short I would like to know which units fought the Essex Regiment in the last couple years of the War.

I have found the following:

• The 1st Battalion sailed from Egypt to France on 16 March 1916.
  • The 15th Battalion went to France in May 1918.
  • The 9th, 10th and 11th Service Battalions all travelled to France in 1915.

Not sure when they left (i.e. before the fighting finished) or even if I have got it round my neck by misunderstanding what I have read. Specifically I am looking for the German units they faced.

That's a very big question! Even most British regimental histories have little to say on this subject. There would be a very considerable number of different German units involved, particularly as British divisions moved between fronts quite frequently.The brigade and division war diaries, through the National Archives, often  have intelligence reports which report identifications from raids, etc.

Once you have identified some German units, if you can read German the I.W.M. has, or certainly had, a fairly large collection of German regimental histories. If you don't read German, you can read Jack Sheldon's excellent series of books on the Germans on the Western Front. Whilst they are from the German perspective, British units are mentioned, to an extent.

Good luck!

Michael

Ha - thanks for the response. Suspected the answer would be more complicated than that (my usual interest in history is about 2000 years earlier than the Great War so I am used to sparse documentation).

I will start with Jack Sheldon and work my way from there. I know a little German (enough to buy food and beer but I suspect it isn't going to help here).