Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

RAMC Diaries

Andy Twynam

Hello, I am a complete research novice so please forgive me if I use the wrong terminology.

The Ancestry website has many many regimental diaries available to look at.  When I look for RAMC diaries it gives me a choice of over 60 "Divisions" which I assume to be the correct word for the separate units of RAMC (???)

My basic question is that, having just found out that a relative's service with RAMC took him to the Balkans theatre-of-war in December 1915, is that in itself sufficient information to establish which "Division" of RAMC he may have been with, so that I can read the appropriate diary ?  I expect the answer will be no, but I thought it was worth asking.

Any suggestions would be very gratefully received.

Andy, a Division was a formation that included infantry, artillery, engineers, transport, etc. It included three Field Ambulances of the RAMC. Other types of RAMC "unit" were Casualty Clearing Stations and Base Hospitals. Many RAMC men were attached to other types of unit, such as the battalions of the infantry. To find the appropriate war diary it will be important for you to determine your relative's unit(s) first.

If you give us a few more details, it is possible that members here can help.

thank you very much Chris Baker.  Unfortunately I don't know the relative's unit.  It was kindly suggested to me yesterday on this forum that by finding the service records of other RAMC men who entered the same theatre on the same day, this might help me, but I have been unsuccesful in that direction.

anyway, the details are

Pte. 9799 Charles Thomas Twynam (sometimes mis-spelt TWYMAN) (born 15/5/1894) entered Balkans theatre 7 December 1915.

He was born and lived in South Lambeth, London, if that is relevant to which unit he might be attached to.