Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

26318 Pte William Barry York and Lancaster Regiment 16th (Transport Workers) Battalion

ManchesterLass

Hello everyone :)

I'm a newbie to all this, so please forgive any mistakes, I'm trying to find out more about my Great Grandfather Private William John Barry, he ended up serving in the York and Lancaster Regiment 16th (Transport Workers) Battalion, which I've learnt means that he didn't fight in France or anywhere else? I have been lucky to find some papers that refer to him, but what I've found has left me slightly confused and with a lot of unanswered questions, I do realise this is common, but I'm not sure how to get answers.

He was born in 1874/75 in Preston Lancashire according to the 1911 Census. At the time of his attestation he lived on Warton Street in Lytham St. Annes.

I have a attestation document dated 15th July 1915 which has him in Corps 2/5 KLR (Kings Lancaster Regiment?) but where his number is there are 3 numbers, 2 crossed out and the number 26318 which is the number I've used to find out what little I could about him. The other numbers in hierarchical order are 17594 and 24127. On question 4 of the attestation document there is a question "In what corps did you serve with the army or other forces?" and my Great Grandfather has N.L.M. there, I cannot find out what this is an abbreviation for.

I also have his 'Proceedings on Discharge' papers, he was discharged on the 18th August 1916 as being "no longer fit for war service" with a 392 (XVi) added, he died in December 1916, I have to obtain his death certificate to try and find out what he died of. If he wasn't in France, what could have happened to him to make him no longer fit for service and how do I find out? I do believe that he should have qualified for a Silver War Badge but I cannot find any further information out about this.