Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help needed in finding info about missing Australian soldier

papaguspacho

Hi,

I am studying modern history in my last year at school and our assignment is to research a missing Australian soldier and present a seminar regarding, how when and where he died.

My chosen soldier is, 3808 James Nelson Chapman of the 18th Battalion.

His date of death is the 3rd May 1917 so he died at the 2nd Battle of Bullecourt. His cause of death says killed in action.

I've accessed his war record and Red Cross files and which have been pretty helpful but the Red Cross Files have a common thread of confusion about his cause of death and a little about his date of death although I am sure he did die on the 3rd May 1917. He was originally classified as Missing in Action then i think a few months later they held a court of enquiry and deemed him as killed in action. If anyone could put me in the right direction in regards to this it would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I've read two chapters from the Official War Histories which talk about the plan for the 2nd Bullecourt and the actual battle. Everything is very detailed except the actions of the 5th Brigade which is his brigade.. Bean states that, "precisely what happened in his brigade will perhaps never be known" (referencing to the 5th Brigade). So I accessed the Unit War Diary which seems to leave out any movements for the 3rd May (it says see operations order and report which I don't know where to find).

I've been trying to plot the movements of the battalion onto a map so I can get a better understanding of the area in which his battalion fought and to narrow down where he could have died. My only problem is finding maps... I've been searching for maps about Bullecourt on all sorts of sites and am finding it difficult to access most maps and i cant really find trench maps of the area in May or late April.