Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Identification of Uniform

Guest redalir

I am new to this forum, and have being trying to find out which regiment my husbands grandfather was in. The only information I have is that he may have been in a horse regiment - probably a Scottish one. Does this uniform match that?

Unfortunately he is not wearing a hat, but he has badges at his collars. I can post a closer image of these if it would help.

I only have 1 photograph which I have attached(hopefully).

post-23-1101503141.jpg

The leather bandoleer is certainly ok...

I don't know about the collars, i am no expert in that :(

Paul has it I think...Scottish Horse. (Yeomanry) The bandoleer was worn by mounted troops and his collars look like the first pattern for the Scottish Horse ,#109, British Army Collar Badges, by Churchill and Westlake.

Shoulder title is "iffy" and lanyards were worn for all kinds of reasons.

DrB

:)

Shoulder title is "iffy" and lanyards were worn for all kinds of reasons.

Lanyards were worn for three reasons; Pistols, whistles, and Clasp knives. By far the most numerous was the claps knife lanyard.

That one is a clasp knife lanyard worn in the correct manner with the knife in the left breast pocket. Unfortunetly Common to everyone.

I think Paul has the answer.

Joe Sweeney

Joe,

can you explain the clasp knife lanyard to me???

This is new!

Is it like the pocket knife cord, but the not around your hip, but worn as a lanyard???

any images on that one?

many thanks,

kristof

Kristof,

Prior to WWI Clasp knives with lanyards were general issue to just about every mounted soldier. Specifically this included the Household Cavalry, Cavalry of the Line, MMP, RHA, RFA, RGA, RE, ASC, AVC, RFC, and AOC.